SCHNITZEL PARADISE

I have made a little break on my way to Tuscany. Recently spent few days in Vienna with my friend Lenka and her lovely daughter Milla.

When I had still lived in Bratislava, I used to visit the city very often as it is only 60km from my home town to Vienna. My absolutely most favourite location is Naschmarkt, the city market. Usually cruising around the flea market area and the stands with exotic ingredients and food. Then stopping for a meal & coffee at some restaurant and watching people. Simply, an ideal autumn Saturday.

This time I wanted to explore a typical „gasthaus“ with a menu of the traditional Austrian cuisine. Surprisingly, I had little difficulties to find a pub serving the original veal Wiener schnitzel. Those ones, I had got the recommendations for or had checked on the internet, offered mainly pork ones. Then I decided spontaneously and found this cute Hofbauer gasthaus on Linke Wienzeile street along Naschmarkt. And I was not disapointed at all. Of course, you can still visit some famouse schnitzel restaurants and there are many of them, but I always enjoy more being surrounded by locals.

We started with a glass of Sturm.

mitzi's foodoo

Hofbauer is focused on the Styrian and Austrian cuisine. It is nice and cosy pub with very friendly service and delicious food.

My friend Lenka went for Steirerkasnock’n mit Käferbohnensalat (Styrian crowns with bean salad).

mitzi's foodoo

I could not have resisted having a Wiener schnitzel.

mitzi's foodoo

Leave a Reply

  • PROOF

    • 16,929 hits
  • SCOOP

