A LIFETIME AFFAIR

Squash (genus Cucurbita), also called marrow, is that kind of food that has never disappointed me. I love it! When I was a kid, I couldn’t have confessed to my classmates or friends that I was crazy about pumpkin. It was rather underestimated vegetable at that time. At least in my home country. All the kids hated it and made jokes from me because of my „deep relationship“ with it. Or maybe the main reason was my mum was (and still is) a really great cook and I loved and ate everything what she had cooked for me because it was just simply awesome. So one of my favourite childhood dishes was summer squash, sour cream and dill stew with boiled potatoes. And the best way served cold especially in the hot summer holiday days. Very refreshing! Pity that I have never seen this summer squash in Germany, therefore I always must have it when I visit Slovakia.

I have to admit that squash (in all of its forms and species) is one of the best elements of winter seasons. I can hardly imagine the cold and grey winter days without it. Maybe it is the „sunny“ colour that makes it so popular to me.

Also it is such a universal vegetable. I just love all the types of the squash dishes – from warm squash salad to pumpkin pie etc. The last time, I stuffed it and the result was again very delicious. I made a vegetarian version, but next time I will try some meat variations. Enjoy this lovely meal for 2 people!

mitzi's foodoo

Ingredients: 1 butternut squash (halved lengthways) / olive oil / 2 garlic cloves, sliced / 250g cooked rice / 2 bigger champignons, sliced / 1 red chilli, cut / 4 thyme sprigs / 2 tbsp pine nuts

mitzi's foodoo

Preparation method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 200ºC/fan 180ºC/gas 6. Scoop the seeds out of the squash and cut criss-crosses in the flesh. Bake for 10-15 minutes until the flesh is becoming tender. Scoop out most of the flesh from each half, leaving a 2cm shell. Chop the scooped out flesh roughly.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a frying pan. Cook the garlic for 2-3 minutes then add the chilli, rice, champignons, thyme, pine nuts and the chopped squash and season. Pile back into the shells, drizzle with more olive oil then bake for another 20-30 minutes until golden and tender.

mitzi's foodoo

Comments
4 Responses to “A LIFETIME AFFAIR”
  1. I totally agree. Pumpkin is sooo versatile,it’s beautiful! Your dish looks delicious.

  2. barbara says:

    mitzi, I totally understand your love… call me mrs pumpkin 🙂 I´ll try this one durring weekend

Leave a Reply

  • PROOF

    • 16,929 hits
  • SCOOP

