I AM A CHILLI GIRL

Once my mum told me a story how I had become a fan of chilli. I was 2 or 3 years old. My father was eating something with hot peppers and I asked for some. My mum almost got heart attack and wanted to stop my father. Despite of that, he gave me a piece and I asked for another one. I loved it from the very first moment and that is how my relationship with this amazing fruit began. When my friends want to make me happy, they know they have to buy chillies or chilli sauces for me. They can’t disapoint me with „chilli style“ of presents.

This time I got Ancho chillies from a friend who had arrived from Mexico. Unfortunatelly I didn’t know it before, so had never cooked with Ancho peppers. Therefore I had to do a little research on it.

Ancho chillies are the dried version of Poblano (or „people“ peppers) originating in the State of Puebla, Mexico. The skin has a rich, sweet, raisin-like flavour, its inner veins are medium hot. You can grind the whole dried pod in a blender (with or without the hot seeds, depending on heat preferences) and use it in Mexican dishes, chilli, meat rubs, and sauces.

mitzi's foodoo

I decided for a different method – stuffed Ancho peppers. There are all sorts of Ancho recipes, e.g. stuffed with grilled tuna pieces or chorizo. Before you start, you have to „bring them back to life“ by soaking them in boiling-hot water and steeping for about 1 hour or more. I combined the water with white vinegar that gave it a slightly acidic flavour and created a sweet and sour balance. I served it with a broccoli purée.

STUFFED ANCHO PEPPERS

mitzi's foodoo

Ingredients: 4 ancho chillies / 2 cups water / 2/3 cup distilled white vinegar / pinch of salt / 3 potatoes, pealed & chopped / 8 cherry tomatoes, chopped / ½ courgette, chopped / 100g semi-firm sheep cheese, grated / 1 tsp dried oregano / For the broccoli purée: 500g broccoli florets / 70ml heavy cream / 1 tsp salt / 50g sheep cheese (the same I use for the peppers)

Preparation method:

  1. Bring the water to boil in medium saucepan. Add the vinegar and salt, simmer until salt has dissolved.
  2. Remove from heat. Add chillies and soak until softened, weighted with a sieve (to keep submerged), until completely rehydrated (most will turn a brighter red), about at least 1-2 hours. 

    mitzi's foodoo

  3. Meanwhile boil the potatoes in salted water, about 15 minutes.
  4. Drain and set aside to cool down.
  5. Pre-heat the oven to 200ºC.
  6. Once potatoes are cold, mix them with the tomatoes, courgette and sheep cheese in a large bowl. Season with black pepper and oregano.
  7. Take the chillies out of the water, but do not drain. Slit lengthwise and remove seeds.
  8. Fill chillies with the potato mixture, put on a baking tray covered with baking parchment, and roast in the oven for about 20 mins.
  9. Meanwhile steam the broccoli in a steamer or boil until soft. Depending on steaming method used, this should take about 10 minutes.
  10. Once cooked, transfer broccoli to a food processor or blender with the cream. Pulse for a few seconds until mixture becomes smooth.
  11. Taste for seasoning, adding cheese and more salt if desired, and serve with the Ancho peppers.
Comments
7 Responses to “I AM A CHILLI GIRL”
  1. *wants some!

    I’m addicted to spicy peppers too, though I thought I started later than you, with 4 or 5 years…

  2. nope, I can always eat spicy. When I don’t for a few days, I feel like I have to and add something spicy to almost whatever… (sandwich!)

  3. I’m definitely a chilli fan through Snd through! Never tried a authentic ancho chilli before though, yum!

Leave a Reply

  • PROOF

    • 16,951 hits
  • SCOOP

